Fashion, Sharkie Stuff

Black Milk Clothing x Spirithoods collaboration – Our review of the Galaxy Wolf hood

I love Black Milk Clothing. I love Spirithoods. So when the two announced they were coming together to collaborate on the Galaxy Wolf hood (the classic Grey Wolf hood with a Black Milk purple galaxy lining) I nearly wet myself with excitement.

My first in real life sighting of Galaxy Wolf was at Sharkiecon Las Vegas at the beginning of October. Once I put one on I didn’t want to take it off. It was beautiful – cosy, soft and colourful. I was crazy jealous of the lucky two girls who won them at the Friday night event!

Mysef, Nimbe and Amy at Sharkiecon Vegas

Myself, Nimbe and Amy at Sharkiecon Vegas

Terrible quality pic but it shows the inner lining well and I love how Amy looks likes she's having a little tantrum!

Terrible quality pic but it shows the inner lining well and I love how Amy looks likes she’s having a little tantrum!

I saw it for a second time when I visited the Black Milk Los Angeles headquarters at the end of October, trying it on once more just reaffirmed my love for it. So when it went on sale on 3rd November I jumped at the chance to own one.

Me at BMLAHQ

Me at BMLAHQ

Galaxy Wolf wasn’t actually due to ship until 2nd December, but they posted out the first 300 ordered last week, so I feel kind of special that I’m one of the first in the UK to receive one! It arrived this morning, delivered by Fedex. No customs charges yet, but I’m wary I may receive a bill in the post at some point.

Front

Front

Back

Back

Anyway, I have to admit that when I first opened the package I was a little disappointed with the print placement I received. The ears and inner arms of my Galaxy Wolf are dark purples and blues, whereas I personally prefer the lighter pinks and blues of the purple galaxy print. Inside the hood however is beautiful and I do have a more colourful section around the pocket.

Inner hood

Inner hood

I have however come to realise that, although I had wanted a lighter lining, this particular placement means the hood works with blue galaxy Black Milk pieces as well as purple, making it a bit more versatile. And the more I look at it, the more I actually love it. I can’t help thinking though that they maybe should have taken more care to ensuring print placements were more in keeping with the colourful examples shown on the website and in promo pics by both companies. There is a disclaimer though;

”Due to the nature of the galaxy print liner all Galaxy Wolf hoods are unique. The liner colouring and detail placement fall differently on every hood. No two hoods are the same, making each item all that much more special!”

As expected from Spirithoods, the quality is superb. The outer grey wolf is 100% acrylic plush faux fur, and incredibly soft. The galaxy lining is described on the website as 100% polyester, but the label states 55% linen, 45% rayon, which from the feel of the fabric seems more accurate. It isn’t the same material that Black Milk use for their leggings. I’d say this material seems a bit more robust, and less likely to snag than the leggings/dresses/etc. So good for frequent wear.

The inner left paw features the Spirithoods logo in the paw print, and the right the Black Milk logo. On the outer side, the paws have open pockets (with galaxy lining) to put your hands in.

Inner paws

Inner paws

The left inner arm features a small zip pocket which fits my iPhone 5S perfectly, with space for a few other smaller items. You may struggle to get a larger smartphone in though, because of the size of the zipped opening. The hood can be closed with a deliberately distressed button which blends in nicely with the grey fur.

Inner zip pocket

Inner zip pocket

Button

Button

There’s a little black tag on the right ear. A lot of people seem confused as to whether they are supposed to remove it, but it is designed to stay, and the little hole is for if you’d like to hang something from it. Spirithoods used to sell little charms for the ear, and I’ve heard they’ll be making a comeback. Personally I like mine without a charm.

Ear and tag

Ear and tag – this pic shows the lining material well

At $139 for the hood and a hideous $39 for shipping to the UK Galaxy Wolf is certainly an investment piece! Luckily I had a discount code which knocked a little off, bringing it down to a total of $160.20. But still, ouch! I generally believe you get what you pay for though, and Galaxy Wolf, in my opinion, is worth its hefty price tag. And don’t forget, 10% of all net profits go to helping endangered species.

Galaxy Wolf is selling fast, but there has been a little restock and there is the possibility it will still be around for the Black Friday/Cyber Monday sales at the end of the month. I’ve also heard rumours that there may be a further Black Milk x Spirithoods collaboration coming.

Have any of our readers ordered/received the Galaxy Wolf? I’d love to hear what you think of it, particularly how you feel about the print placement you received? What fur/print combination would you be keen to see in the future?

L xx

*All photos are our own, or from the photobooth at Sharkiecon Las Vegas – with the exception of the header image which is from the Spirithoods website.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Black Milk Clothing x Spirithoods collaboration – Our review of the Galaxy Wolf hood

  1. I love, love, love the placement you received. It might just be my favorite that I’ve seen :). I didn’t order the Galaxy wolf myself because I already own (and am currently wearing) The Grey wolf GOA HB3 hood so I didn’t want to be redundant by having another Grey Wolf, so I really hope they put out another Black Milk cross over piece at some point :P. I hope you enjoy it it’s beautiful. I’ve read some people weren’t entirely happy with their placement which I can understand but I’m glad you’ve really come to love yours! Great post, great pictures 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment